Cup of coffee as baby lamb

lamb_3411

Dialogue this morning around 8 a.m.  I’ve been up for 40 minutes, Sarah for ten.

Sarah, casting her eyes around the room with mild alarm: “whatever you do, don’t throw out my cup of coffee.”

Me: “I’d sooner tear away the baby lamb from the claws of the fierce tiger.”

Sarah: looks at me blankly.  “What?  Why wouldn’t you save the baby lamb?”  Thinks.  “Oh, because I’m like the ferocious tiger before I’ve had my coffee.”  Shrugs and gets her coffee.

I guess it was a weird metaphor.  You don’t want to get between Sarah and her first cup of coffee, though.

One Response

  1. Maybe better no discussion of any metaphor before cup of coffee!

Leave a Reply

